A Nice Weekend for a change...

2003-09-29 at 8:58 a.m.


Monday, Monday... back to the grind. The older kids are sleeping in and G just informed me he's the keeper of a poopy diaper. Be right back...

Okay, I'm back. We had a relatively relaxing weekend. E had a good time at his birthday party Saturday. It was at a skating rink and even though he doesn't have much experience skating, he loves to get out there and try. I never was very good at skating, either.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, we got up early. M and S came over around 8:00am to watch the kids and K and I went to Hann!bal for the morning. He had a job assignment up there so we thought we'd make a little trip of it. I was looking forward to enjoying the quaintness of a small river town - walking through the shops and having brunch at a nice little coffee shop overlooking the water.

I was thoroughly disappointed.

Hann!bal was not the sweet, little Mark Twain-esque town I was hoping it would be. It was depressed, run down, delapidated and dirty. There wasn't a house I would have inhabited in the entire town. There was only one restaurant open and they stopped serving breakfast the minute we walked in the door. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs and I have to admit, it was fabulous. Or maybe it was because I was so incredibly hungry. I was able to exercise my Pepsi boycott there, when I ordered a diet coke and the waitress said, "Is diet Pepsi okay?" I said, "No, I'll have iced tea." Little did I know it was presweetened so I ruined it by adding Equal to it.

There were only a few shops on the riverfront and what was there was closed. They could take a lesson from St. Charles and our wonderful Historic District. Hann!bal could be a thriving area if some effort and revenue was put into it.

At least K and I were able to get away by ourselves for awhile. It was a beautiful day, with a crystal clear blue sky and only a few puffy clouds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We came home to an empty house. M and S had taken the boys to a playground. We immediately raced up to the bedroom...

... to take a nap. We're an old married couple, dontcha know. If we get an uninterrupted hour in bed together, it's gonna be used for sleep. As it turned out, K immediately switched the TV on to the NASCAR race, so I left the bed and came down here to the computer. I think I've sat through my fair share of racing over the years. I shouldn't have to be subjected to it while I try to sleep.

About an hour later, the kids came home with the kids. They had a great time and behaved like angels for M and S. We discussed where to go to dinner, as we still owed S a birthday dinner from several weeks ago. We agreed on a new Mexican place that just opened in O'Fall0n. They went home to change and do some laundry and I went to the grocery store to buy a cake I had seen last week.

I ended up having to drive all over hell's half acre to find this cake. Naturally they didn't have it at the store right around the corner from us. I ended up having to go to a store about 15 miles from here to get it, but it was worth it. I know you've all probably seen hamburger cakes, right? In fact, we've had several of them - pictures of which I've shared. Well, this one was a hamburger... with a side of fries!! There were several strips of pound cake beside the cake that had red icing drizzled over it like ketchup. It was the cutest thing I ever saw!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We went to dinner and the kids were awesome. S loved her gift certificate to Beauty Brands and her card, too. It had a picture of donkeys all blindfolded, playing a game called, "Pin the ass on the human". They had little cutouts shaped like butts that they had to pin on a person with no ass. It said, "Donkey birthday games" on the front. Too funny. The food was amazing - some of the best Mexican I've ever had. I had the seafood enchiladas. It was authentic Mexican, which is hard to find here in the middle west.

Since we were so close to where the house is being built, we drove up to take a look. M and S had never been up there since building began. They were impressed.

We came home and had some cake. I was so stuffed, I couldn't even eat any. I have to be pretty damn full to turn down cake, so that tells you something. Don't you worry, though. I had a piece this morning for breakfast.

(Gee L, why are you so damn fat? Could it be the fact that you stuff yourself full of enchiladas, then eat cake for breakfast?)

I figured I'd go ahead and say it, since you're all thinking it. Hehehe...

Well, my babies are waking up for the day, so I conclude. Good day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

20 days until my vacation!

I'm wearing: pink Boxer pants, pink t-shirt

I'm listening to: "New Song" by Howard Jones

I'm eating/drinking: coffee

Current weather in St. Charles, MO: clear and cold, 42 degrees!

last & next

new old profile notes design host