Theives and spoiled grandmothers

2003-09-30 at 8:48 a.m.


I know you all must grow tired of reading about my laundry room perils, but I have yet another complaint about which to vent. I suspect someone may have stolen two of K's shirts. He came downstairs today wearing only pants. I asked why he was half dressed (he's old you know, so I thought possibly he had simply forgotten to complete the dressing process). He told me he was going to get a shirt from the basket of laundry I had folded last night. I told him that I had already hung all the shirts from the load. Turns out, two of his dressier polo-type shirts are missing. They're identical in style - one is maroon and grey plaid and one is grey and black plaid. I suspect that someone rifled through the dryers and took them both. It just seems too coincidental that two identical shirts would be missing. This apartment is too small for anything to be lost here, so I can't think of any other scenario. I guess I'll go shopping for more shirts for him today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I rearranged the living room/dining room yesterday. I don't have alot of options in this place, but I desperately wanted to move the computer from its original location. I had it right up against the dining room window. From there, I couldn't plug in the camera cord unless I got on my back and slid under the computer desk. Also, the glare coming in the window was murder on my eyes. I've since switched places with the dining room table. It's now up against the window and the computer is on the far wall. I also took this opportunity to try to rebuild this heap of shit computer desk. I'm surprised it doesn't collapse on my knees, it's so wobbly.

I ended up having to move the coffee table back into the living room, where previously it had been up against a wall here in the dining room. It's so tight in the living room now, we can barely walk through it. Grrr... I hope that house gets built quickly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speaking of that, we drove past last night and they hadn't done anything new. I can deal with that. When we built our last house, I used to get so frustrated, because they would only work maybe one to two days a week, and got very little done each time. I can't complain at all about them taking a day away from this place. There are several new places going up now. More and more people are discovering what an incredible area that is to live.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had just written an entire paragraph about something, but I just deleted it. I don't want to ruffle any feathers with the subject, so I'll just let it go for now. Never mind me...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I asked my mom is we'll be seeing my other grandmother on my birthday, as well as the grandmother from hell. My other g'ma lives 36 miles from the g'ma I'll be visiting and it seems like a shame not to see her, too. My moms says I'm welcome to go and visit her on my own, but if she went along with me, her mother would never let her hear the end of it. She is so jealous of my other g'ma, it's incredible. So we tiptoe around her and walk on eggshells so as not to piss her off. Ridiculous. You'd think we were talking about a spolied little girl, not an 80 year old woman.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, I need to go and see if I can get motivated to do something today. I'm so tired, I could go back to bed, but I'm sure the powers that be (my kids) would never let that happen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

19 days until my trip!

I'm wearing: grey sweat pants, white Jacksonville, FL t-shirt

I'm listening to: G unloading the pantry

I'm eating/drinking: coffee

Current weather in St. Charles, MO: cloudy and 55 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host