So sore am I

2004-06-28 at 8:54 a.m.


We had a busy weekend and I'm so tired from it, I vow to do nothing today but sit around and relax.

Friday night, E and I went shopping. First we walked through Dollar Tree, then to Wal-Mart. At the dollar store, I found a couple of good deals, so I decided to buy them. At the checkout, I discovered they don't accept debit cards. WTF? Who doesn't accept debit cards these days? So I left my stuff on the counter and walked out. Ridiculous.

Next stop. In addition to my usual Wal-Mart things, I found some clothes for E on clearance. I got four school-quality t-shits, one dressy button up shirt and two pairs of pants for $20. I love Wal-Mart! E bought four more Tech Deck Dudes with the money he earned.

Saturday, we went grocery shopping. I had done so well at Aldi last week, that I couldn't justify going anywhere else this week. I got a heaping cartful of groceries for $89. Aldi has really stepped up their quality. Used to be, their dairy products were the only thing they sold that were the least bit edible. Now, it's all pretty good. We then went to Shop 'n' Save to get a few things Aldi didn't have.

Saturday afternoon, we went to Lowe's and bought paint for the dining room and living room.

Robb!e, our neighbor down the street, came over to visit. He's 16, adorable and very responsible for his age. He works at Guacamoles, the new Mexican restaurant down on Highway K. J gave him a "House Hunters" style tour of the house. He looked and sounded just like a little real estate agent!

We asked Robb!e if he ever did any babysitting and he said he did. He gave us his phone number and said he'd be happy to watch the boys anytime.

Silly Robb!e.

Yesterday morning, we tackled painting the dining room. Just as we were starting, M called and asked to borrow our ladder. They were painting their house yesterday, too. K told him we get to use the ladder, because...

A) we have nine foot ceilings - they have eight

B) M is a good three inches taller than K

and C) we said so.

I can see why people pay people to paint for them. Our dining room isn't a huge room and there's only drywall two thirds of the way up (there's wainscotting along the bottom). Regardless of these facts, it still took all damn day and left us sore and stiff. After inspecting it this morning, it looks like it's going to need a second coat.

WAAAAAAA-AAAAHH!!!

The color is called "Ivy Trellis" which is a medium sage green. It went on a little minty, but it seems to have dried more to my liking. I told K that I didn't care if it dried hot pink - I wasn't repainting it. My masking looks sloppy and the painter's tape didn't stick to the textured ceilings, so I had to cut in by hand. It shows. Oh well. There's my excuse to get crown moldings sometime.

The color we chose for the living room is a tan. That room's really gonna be a bitch. It's the same size as the dining room, but it has more actual wall space.

I was so sore, I took a scalding hot bath as soon as the kids were in bed. It helped temporarily, then even more soreness set in.

Today, as I said, I'm planning nothing. I may not even get dressed. I told K before we do the living room, he needs to get a sprayer...

And the sprayer can bring his equipment.

Just my feeble attempt at humor. Don't mind me.

Well, I'm going to see what else the internet has to offer this morning. Have a good Monday!

last & next

new old profile notes design host