Yes, I know this is my THIRD entry today...

2004-08-30 at 5:43 p.m.


Yes, you're getting another entry from me today. Since I don't have an adult with whom to converse, this diary is the next best thing. Aren't you lucky.

E was back to his ragin' self this past weekend, due largely in part to being bored out of his mind. I sent him with K on several errands just to keep him busy and to pass the time. When left to his own resources for amusement, he chose his usual "throwing of toys" as entertainment. The results weren't pleasant.

While upstairs strightening up our bedroom, K and I heard a crash - then the sound of breaking glass, followed by dead silence. K and I stood there looking at each other, when we heard the faint whisper of a child saying, "Oh shit... "

I tried to remain calm as I slowly walked down the stairs to see what had broken. As any good parent should, I first asked, "Is everyone okay?" E's answer was, "We are until you come down."

Good one, kid.

As I turned down the staircase, I saw my hand-painted floral porcelain picture frame in pieces. It wasn't a terribly valuable piece, but one I had had for a long time. It housed two heart-shaped pictures, one of K and one of me on our wedding day. Sort of symbolic, I guess - the two of us laying face down among the ruins of our marriage. Hehehe...

I asked E what had happened and the accusations flew.

"He did it!"

"Nuh UH!! YOU did!"

Having known these children as long as I have, I knew exactly what had happened, I just get a kick out of hearing them stammer out their excuses. I know E did it. He did it while hurling stuffed animals around the room like a 13 month old. I told him he would pay me for the frame. I let him off easy by only charging him $5.00 when I know it cost well over $20 back in the day.

Obviously feeling more at ease now at school, E has taken to raging and acting like a moron after arriving home. Today, I offered to wipe out the picture frame debt if he'd go the hell to his room and leave me the hell alone. Okay, so I didn't word it quite like that, but he took the bait and I now have a relatively quiet house.

Yes, it's bribery. No, it's not a very mature thing for a parent to do, but this is not your child. You have no idea what you'd do in my shoes. In fact, I'm quite tempted to offer him $10 a day for coming home, taking his meds, having a quick snack and going straight to his room until dinner. It's not that I don't love him to pieces and like being around him, it's just that he's so wild and out of control that I have to keep him and his brothers seperated or I'll lose what little sanity remains.

It's too frustrating for me. Any bit of relaxation I get during the day with him in school is gone as soon as he bounds through the front door at 4:08pm.

I'm rambling, forgive me...



last & next

new old profile notes design host