What a weekend...

2004-09-07 at 11:11 a.m.


I'll try to pick up where I left off...

Friday night, K and I went out to dinner. We had arranged for M and S to watch the boys for us. We left to go look at the new car K ordered. We had been trying to decide what color to get and had narrowed it down to the black (K's choice) or the green (mine). After seeing the green in person, I agreed black would be the best choice. The green wasn't as pretty as it appeared in the brochures. *Concedes*

We then drove into Chesterf!eld to the restaurant. I suppose we could have easily eaten someplace closer, but we had our heart set on this place called Uno's. We arrived and sat down to peruse the menu. We decided what we wanted, then waited.

And waited.

And waited...

Twenty minutes later, a waitperson came by and said, "Has anyone been with you yet?" He was appalled that no one had even acknowledged our presence and assured us he would take good care of us from then on.

He lied.

Another twenty minutes went by before we got our damned mango iced tea. We thought perhaps they were growing the mangoes from seeds first.

I don't know if it was the late hour and the extreme hunger or if the food was really that good, but it was wonderful and worth the wait. After we ate, we went to WalMart to look for some pants for K. We couldn't find any he liked, so we looked at some furniture. They have a dining room set there I really like and they had it on sale! Unfortunately, they didn't have it in stock.

We left to go home after that. We got home around 11:00pm and were exhausted.

Saturday we ran some errands, including shopping and putting the aforementioned dining room set in layaway at another WalMart location.

Sunday morning, E woke up beet red. He's known for his 106 degree fevers, but he didn't have one now, even thought he looked as though he did. They say the eyes are the windows to the soul and in E's case, he could have subtitles on his. They told the story - he was sick. I knew as soon as I saw him that we were in for the ride of our lives. He insisted he felt well enough to go wash the car with K. When he arrived home a couple of hours later, he told me he threw up at the QT station. From there, he proceeded to vomit every twenty minutes for the next 24 hours. He had never been so sick. He couldn't keep a thing down and was clutching his stomach in utter agony.

I had never seen him like that and had never heard him complain about being in so much pain. It scared me. He had chills and cold sweats. He cried because his stomach hurt so bad. I suggested to K that we take him to the emergency room, but he thought we should wait it out.

Yesterday, E managed to keep down a banana and some crackers. I had bought him a big bottle of Sprite and he was now able to keep some of that down, as well. He slept the entire day and woke up in time to say hello to M and S who were over for a Labor Day barbeque. My friend Amy had stopped by, too. Without eating dinner, E fell back to sleep on the living room floor. All of this sleeping without the aid of medication. Weird.

He woke up this morning and said he felt great and didn't want to miss school. He showered, dressed and started antagonizing his brothers like any other day. Things are back to normal.

Tell me this... could one person's cold germs become another person's stomach ailment? Hmmmm....

I scoured the entire house yesterday and hopefully freed it of any remaining germs. Knock on wood, K and the other kids and I seem to be okay. I hope this is the last of it.

We gave J and G their gifts yesterday. I snapped a few pictures, but not many because they were absolutely atrociously behaved and refused to stand for poses. Little shits.

I'm spent and just want to do nothing today. In fact, I'm going to get started on that right now.

Thanks for all the well-wishes for E!

See you soon...

last & next

new old profile notes design host