Goodbye, Willis

2004-10-21 at 12:32 p.m.


I feel so helpless, like there's something I should be doing, but all I can do is express how truly saddened I am right now.

I just talked to Larry. Evidently his dad hadn't been doing well for the past year or so, which I knew but not to what extent. He had developed Hepatitis and he was losing weight rapidly. He was down to 103 pounds yesterday. He had been in and out of the emergency room alot latey.

He went to the ER yesterday, because he was vomitting blood. They found internal bleeding near the esophagus. Within twelve hours, he had gone through his own blood and was basically living on what had been pumped into him.

He underwent exploratory surgery late last night and was unresponsive afterwards. Larry, his mother and his brothers all got together at the hospital around 3:00am and decided it was for the best to let him go. He died an hour after he was unplugged.

Larry is devastated. He is so sensitive anyway, especially when it comes to family. He could barely choke out the words as we talked. They're awaiting the arrival of family members and then they'll make the decisions about the service and whatnot. I wish my trip was a week earlier! Willis welcomed me into his family as if I was his own daughter. He was the most amazing man I'd ever met! So warm, loving, funny and caring.

I just sent flowers to Nadine (Larry's mom). Larry says she's taking charge of everything and doing okay, but I think some people are like that. It will hit her later. She and Willis were like newlyweds - still so much in love. I can't imagine the emptiness she'll be feeling.

I told Larry how very much I love him and his dad both. He lost it. He said he'd pass on my best to his mom and tell her about him being the FIL I never had.

I want like nothing I've ever wanted before, to put my arms around him right now and make the hurt go away.

last & next

new old profile notes design host