Rages and patios

2004-06-30 at 9:18 a.m.


Yesterday, E had the worst rage he's ever had. It all stemmed from his smarting off to me. In typical E fashion, he kept digging deeper and deeper. He doesn't know when to stop. Even when he's lost everything that means a thing to him, he still keeps fighting. He threw chairs, tables and pictures off the walls. He hit me and scratched me. He ripped up drawings his little brothers had made for me. He kicked walls. It was the worst rage I'd ever seen. I had the phone in my hand ready to call the police for back up. I was that desperate. I just don't know what to do when he's like that. His quack pdoc would say to give him a dose of his medication. I can't get the kid to stop kicking holes in my drywall - you think I'm going to get him to consent to downing three pills?? I almost wish his medicine could be administered by injection.

He finally calmed down on his own after an hour or so, but not before his brothers were scared out of their wits, I was in tears and the concrete workers were all gathered at the back door to see what the hell was going on.

Dealing with E's rages literally takes years off my life. After the rage ends, I shut down emotionally and physically. I can't deal with anything. I just want to curl up into a ball and die.

The good news is, we have a great new patio. Cra!g is the first flaky race driver for whom K has worked, who ever followed through on the goods he's promised in exchange for all of K's hard work. Cra!g owns a concrete business.

1. Terry paid him cash, but ran out of money midway through the season. (At a time when this was K's only job)

2. Tony didn't pay him a damn thing and never even promised to. Then the bastard up and died on us.

3. Tim promised us a finished basement the first season, then a fence and a deck the second season. I'm still waiting for both.

4. Junior paid him cash money, but the percentage of the point fund that was promised never came.

5. J!mm!e Johnson paid him money, but the season was cut short when he was offered his Cup ride.

There were others, but I can't even remember their names or their empty promises. Cra!g, while irritating as hell, at least fulfilled his promise. If one good thing came from his seeing E's rage, it was this - at least now he sees how much I need K at home. Taking him away from home weekend after weekend is unacceptable. This disspells Cra!g's theory that I don't do anything.

Hmph.

last & next

new old profile notes design host