Sunday Sickness

2004-09-12 at 7:07 a.m.


HAPPY 40th ANNIVERSARY to my parents! Wow, 40 years!

As I said, I have a cold. A pretty bad one, too. Usually, I try not to concern myself with the origin of an illness, because the damage is done and can't be changed. In this case, however, I can't help but continue to fume over the fact that we're all sick due to someone else's inconsideration and stupidity - coming to our home sick and loaded with germs.

The boys are sick, too, but not to the degree I am. E is stuffy and tired, J is tired and grumpy and G has thick green snot running from his nose.

None of us, however, is sick to the degree K is. *Rolls eyes* And to hear him whine, you'd think no one had ever been more sick....

"My head huuuuuurrrrts!"

"I can't even taste this foooooooood!"

"Oh GOD! I feel like SHIIIIIIIIT!"

Christ. Men are such total fucking pussies.

I got my new bedding set the other day. The set on which I spent far too much money, but was really a good deal. For the low, low price of $128, I got an oversize king quilt, two standard shams, two throw pillows and a matching throw. In time, if I can learn how, I'd like to make a padded headboard out of the throw. Until then, it hangs on the rocking chair in my bedroom. I'll post a picture of it later, when I can drag my sorry fat ass upstairs and get the bed made.

I'm trying to talk K into us getting a credit card. You may be wondering why people our age don't have a credit card already. Well, we did at one time. In fact, in the late 80s/early 90s, we had several. No. We had many. In addition to having every store card you can imagine, between us, we had over 20 MasterCards, Visas and American Express cards. We had all (green, gold and platinum) of the American Express cards. We had a combined credit limit of $100,000. To make a long story short, we went a little too crazy with them, then when things started to turn south on us, we ended up in bankruptcy court. When K's salary was cut, we used to cards to pay bills and buy groceries. We'd take cash advances from one card to make the minimum payment on another.

We haven't had a card since, because I'm not sure we could be trusted with one. I believe now we've learned our lesson and I think we should have one for emergencies. I'd like to one day be disciplined enough to use the card to pay for groceries, gas and assorted sundries in an effort to earn whatever rewards the card offers, then pay the balance every month.

I live in fear that the unthinkable will occur and I'll need to purchase a last minute airline ticket somewhere to attend a funeral or care for a loved one who's fallen ill. But there are other emergencies for which I would like to have a card, such as...

~ It's nineteen days until our next "open" payday and E is almost out of medication

~ J has been invited to his first birthday party and I have no damn money to buy the kid a gift

~ J desperately needs a haircut before school picures on Friday

~ I have no money to pay for school pictures on Friday

~ Since our subdivision is now 80% developed, they're going to finally start delivering our mail curbside and we need to erect a box

Yeah, yeah, yeah... I hear you all saying that I shouldn't have bought the bedding. You're right. I shouldn't have. But these were all unexpected expenses that arised after "post-bedding bidding". I get tired of selling things around the house on ebay to make ends meet every month. If we could get a credit card that paid us points or cash back on every purchase, it would ease the stress a little and we'd have something to show for it. I don't even need a high limit - maybe $500. That would assure us keeping our spending in check and keep me from scouring the change return slots of pay phones just to buy milk for the kids.

As far as the mailbox in concerned, our subdivision has certain requirements as to the asthetics of the damn thing. No cheesy metal-box-on-a-stick for this neighborhood. It has to be fancy-pantsy. I wish they had had us all buy the same style mailbox and figure the cost in at the time of building. Some subdivisions do that. Oh well, I'll figure something out.

I'm going to try to find something to eat that doesn't do further damage to my throat and that I can actually taste.

Good day...

last & next

new old profile notes design host