They have it all...

2004-09-13 at 5:04 p.m.


It's 5:00pm, dinner is cooking and my children are bouncing off the walls. This is due largely in part to E having missed his 2:00pm dose of medication. The nurse failed to send the empty bottle home over the weekend for me to refill. By the time I got her message regarding this, school was out and it was too late for me to have done anything about it. I gave him the missed dose when he came home, but it doesn't seem to be having any effect. I've half a mind to look up the nurse's address and drop him (and a sibling or two) at her door. If I gave him a "floater" dose, it would make him pass out for six hours. Hmmmm... let me ponder this further.

My brother and SIL bought a new house. It's in Woodland Hills, has three bedrooms, two baths, a pool and a view to die for. It's a fixer, so they got it for a song. *Snort* If you can call $700,000 for a forty year old home "a song"... Unlike the last two homes they bought, they actually plan to reside in this one. It's a tad bigger than the house in which they currently live. I have to admit, I'm jealous. Not so much of the house, because it's not very big, nor is it full of modern ammentities. I'm jealous of the fact that my brother, seven years my junior, is able to turn and burn houses for profit. I'm jealous that he's able to afford to buy homes to rent out for a large profit.

I realize that this is mainly due to my SIL's substantial income as a real estate agent. She made $300,000 in her first year and will likely make double that this year.

I envy their life together. They both work hard, but they have it all. They have money, security and freedom. They're crazy in love with one another and have no worries whatsoever, except where shall they dine this evening.

They will likely never make me an aunt and for that fact, I'm a little sad. But if I had a life like theirs, neither would I exchange it for a life of worry, chaos, financial ruin and children bouncing off walls.

When I saw Tre-vor the day he was born, I thought he looked like a reptile - weak and green. Today, 31 years later, I'm the one who's weak and green.

With envy.



last & next

new old profile notes design host