Sickies and sewing

2004-02-23 at 8:59 a.m.


I now have two of my three kids home sick. J and G are the most recent casualties of whatever is going around.

J started running a fever Saturday and today G woke up vomitting. I'm in for an action packed day, I'm sure.

I placed an auction over the weekend for G's old crib bedding. I was sad to let it go, but it serves me no purpose, other than to make me sad that my baby is no longer a baby. It's a highly sought after set, so I knew it would sell fast, and it did. The only flaw to this set was the dust ruffle. It had two rips, where the crib railing would come down across it. I disclosed this flaw and mentioned that I would repair it as soon as the auction was placed, but that the winning beiider may still notice the repair as I'm not great with a sewing machine. I have nothing but envy and respect for people who can sew.

Yesterday, the auction sold with buy-it-now. I got the bed skirt ready and went to get my sewing machine. Logically, it would be in the garage with all the other shit I've yet to unpack, right. One would think so, anyway.

Wrong.

Evidently, when K and M were loading our storage POD from the old house, they ran out of room when they got to the sewing machine. The only place they could find space for it was in the trunk of my Che-vell-e, which is currently being stored at a race shop 70 miles from here.

Have I ever mentioned how much I detest sewing by hand? Not to mention how horrible I am at it? It was either sew it by hand, or drive up to that damned race shop to fetch a 500 pound sewing machine, so I took my chances on mending the repair with a plain ol' needle and thread.

It only (!) took two hours and doesn't look too bad at all. You can definitely see where it was mended, but it looks like two additional seams, as opposed to two bad repairs. I so pwoud.

Well, sick children beckon. Have a good day, all!

last & next

new old profile notes design host