Yikes...

2004-01-06 at 12:02 p.m.


Remember when I said my heat wasn't working yesterday? Well, it turned into quite a scary ordeal. I checked all the things that the kids could have done to it, like flipping the switch on the furnace, adjusting the thermostat, etc... It didn't appear to be child-tampered. I called K and asked what else I should check. He suggested the fuse box. I checked it, but nothing in it appeared to be out of the ordinary. If it weren't for the gas log in the fireplace, we would have spent the day huddled in a corner upstairs where the furnace appeared to still be in working order. I turned the fireplace off to go take a shower... (Kids unattended + open flame = disaster) and when I arrived back downstairs, the temperature had plummeted to 62 degrees! I called Terry, the building manager and had him come and take a look at it. Plus, he's a total babe, so any excuse to call him over is a plus.

He looked at it and couldn't figure out what the problem was. He told me to call the heating company to come out and take a look at it. Another total babe, named Mike, with large bronze muscles and platinum tips, came out to look at the furnace. He discovered some interesting and frightening things...

I cannot for the life of me remember or understand ("Oh look! A chicken!) what he said was wrong, so forgive however inaccurate this recollection may be. For one thing, the builder's electrician had failed to tighten something or other, which, in time would have caused a fire. Also, they had run the downstairs furnace to the same breaker as an upstairs light. This is within code in our county, but not so in our neighboring county, so it had Mike concerned. Hmmm... Coincidentally, we had just hung this light in question. (It was one we had supplied ourselves - the one in the bonus loft area that was added) When we first hung the light, it worked fine. But in turning it on later, we evidently blew a circuit, causing the furnace to fail. When this happened, it sent all the electricity to this shared circuit to the light instead. We turned the light on night before last and it was so bright, it about knocked us over. We knew something was big time wrong.

K mentioned the light to the furnace guy and immediately he came to the aformentioned conclusion. He said that if we had left the light on (yeah, right - like we could stand it!), it would have burnt the house down in no time.

He fixed everything and after three hours, finally was able to leave. K mentioned all of this to Terry today and he plans to send the electrician over today to double check everything. SCARY!!

I'm hoping for a nice, boring day today.

I know I say this every time school is due to resume after psycho break, but I will never be so glad to get these behemoths of mine back to the classroom and out of my hair. I think I might take up drinking. Good thing is..

I can if I wanna! I'm completely weaned off of Cel-exa, so alcoholism is something in which I can now participate if I so choose. Just kidding... I'm sure most of you know how I feel about drinking.

Besides, my head is spinning off its axis from all the Ibuprofen I take for my aiken feet. I feel like someone is tipping the room on me.

I guess I need to go to the doctor, huh?

Okay, here's my take on World Idol. Kurt reminded me of another contestant from not too long ago. One who got on stage, looking like a total fucking dweeb, but put people on the floor when he opened his mouth. I'm talking of course, about my Clay. I thought most of the other contestants on WI were horrific, including Kelly. I've taken an extreme dislike to her. She's become an irrogant, self-serving, talentless bore. I could tolerate Wil and one of the other singers whose name escapes me, but the others were revolting. Kurt was sure to be the walk-away winner. Just as the winner was to be announced...

*Blipp*

My satellite went out. It had been installed only five hours previously. I searched the web over the following day to obtain the results of the show. Even the WI website hadn't updated with the

results. It took me reading this to realize who had won! (And yes, I too loved Clay's little tantrum! Wasn't it the shit?!)

Welp, a garage full of boxes are awaiting being opened and emptied of their contents, so I must depart you. Good day.



last & next

new old profile notes design host