Clay all the way!

2003-05-21 at 8:14 a.m.


Linda writes:

Sometimes I think the judges have their heads up their ass. How anyone could have possibly thought that Ruben was ovation~worthy last night is beyond my realm of belief. I thought Ruben hit an all~time low. "A House is Not a Home" was off~key and weak. No one can sing that song like Tamyra did last year. His butchering of "Imagine" undoubtedly had John Lennon fighting his way out of his pine box. I have no idea what song Ruben sang last, but it was chock full of that trademark, "WaahAAAAHhoohhO
oOoohhHOoh" crap for which Ruben is known. I think it's his (and many singers) way of hiding flat, sharp and off~key notes.

Why can't the judges see this? Why are they continually blown away by this man? Are they afraid of being body slammed by him and his equally massive brother? Tell it like it is, people! Ruben doesn't cut it!

I totally disagree with everyone, judges and local media alike, who dislike Clay's first song. This is the song being released as a single. I thought it was a great song and that he did an awesome job with it. It suited him perfectly. Clay's rendedtion of "Here, There and Everywhere", which by the way is the only Beatles song I've ever liked, was okay. Not great, not mind~blowing, but nice. He has some difficulty hitting the higher notes, but I found it enjoyable. Face it...

Clay could stand on the stage with his finger in his nose, reading a restaurant menu and I'd be swooning.

His "Bridge Over Troubled Water" performance was absolutely incredible. It was the performance of a lifetime and I agree with Simon (for the first time in a long time) that it's the performance that will win him the competition.

I had a phone in each hand and dialed them both for the duration of the three hours given. I only got through eight times. Good. That means that all of you were voting, too.

Thank you...

Now we just need to keep pur fingers crossed that Clay is our next American Idol!

last & next

new old profile notes design host