More of my Awesome Trip

2004-05-06 at 10:38 a.m.


Back to the trip journal...

THURSDAY, APRIL 29

I'm in mourning. I'm not at all surprised that my John has reached the end of the AI road, but I'm incredibly sad to think I won't be hearing him sing on the show anymore. I hope against hope that someone in the recording industry will see in John all the wonderful and beautiful things that I see and offer him a chance to showcase his amazing talent. I would be devastated if I've heard John sing for the last time.

I have his exit song going through my mind and it makes me happy. And a little sad, too.

I was supposed to see Debb!e last night, but she cancelled on me, saying she wasn't feeling well. After I heard from her, I called Lar-ry to see if he had left yet for his meeting. He has Mustang club meetings on Wednesday nights in Santa Barbara and he had asked if I wanted to go along. He had already left when I called and I didn't want to bother him on his cell phone, so I just stayed in last night.

For as warm as it's been during the day, it's equally as chilly at night. I like to sleep with my window open, but I always end up getting up and closing it. The sound of crashing waves is an awesome way to awaken everyday. I recommend it to all.

Housing prices have gone completely out of control here. Example: my old house.

Built: 1957

Bedrooms: 3

Bathrooms: 1 3/4

Square footage: 1163

In 1988, we paid $163,500. In 1993, after the market had plummeted, we sold it for $177,000 (biggest mistake we ever made). Now homes on the street are selling in the $479,000 - $499,000 range.

Another example: Lar-ry's condo.

Built: 1976

Bedroom: 3

Bathrooms: 2

Square footage: 1350

In 2001, he paid $147,500. The unit behind his just sold for $340,000! It's sheer insanity. I told him he could sell him house and come to Missouri and pay cash for one like mine.

This morning, mom and I went to Carrow's for breakfast. As we were pulling in, we saw Lar-ry driving into the lot of McDonald's next door. I thought, "Aha! He's going to visit his girlfriend!" I jokingly (?) told Mom I ought to have gone inside, walked up to him and acted like I was his wife, telling him his kids and I miss him and want to know when he's coming home.

I'm so immature, sometimes it's hard to believe I'm a 37 year old wife and mother. I was just dying to see this girl of his.

Not able to stand the suspense, I went outside and called him. Maybe I wanted to see if he would walk next door and join Mom and me at Carrow's. Maybe I was trying to interrupt the two of them if they were together - and make myself miserable. I know now how inconsiderate it was to even think that. It's just that... well, I really don't even know what I was trying to accomplish by calling him.

As it was, he was having breakfast with his friend, B!ll, and San-dra was nowhere to be found. She doesn't even work there anymore, I found out later. After we finished eating, Mom and I went over to spy say hello.

We sat down with them for a few minutes, them Mom and I left to go shopping. Lar-ry and I made plans to get together with his niece, M!chelle and her new baby later in the day.

More later...

last & next

new old profile notes design host