Just Another Weekend...

2004-04-05 at 8:17 a.m.


I love Mondays, when K goes back to work and E goes back to school. I feel like things go somewhat back to normalcy.

Thank you all for your supportive comments about E's friend. Friday night, I talked to him about B's death. I asked questions and allowed him to ask them of me. I think he was more curious than sad and more shaken than upset. I assured him that B was quite ill, but with what - I don't know, and that Edoesn't have that illness, nor does he need to worry about getting it. I tried to explain where B is and how things are there. I brought myself to say he's in a better place, but who really knows?

I went grocery shopping Friday night and took E along with me. Halfway through the store, I stopped and hugged my oldest son. He felt so warm and his hair smelled delicious. I savored the moment, realizing and sympathizing that B's parents don't get that pleasure anymore.

This weekend was much like all the others - kids fighting and me not accomplishing much. I asked E if he wanted to go to B's funeral Saturday. He went back and forth for hours, before finally deciding not to. I'm somewhat relieved. I don't know that he would have handled it well and I know I wouldn't have. I cry very easily and the news of this little boy's death just hit too close to home for me.

We took a drive Saturday and looked at some beautiful country nearby that I never knew was there. We saw some awesome new homes being built that put mine to shame. Yesterday, we went out and got coffee at a new coffee house in the south part of town.

Ah, yes. Today would be the day they come to lay sod in the front yard and seed and straw the back yard. Yesterday, J wrote, "You ASS fase" on the patio in chalk. I hear the workers getting a good laugh about it right now.

My talented five year old and his amazing ability to spell using phonics.

I better go see what is causing G to scream - have a great Monday!

18 days until my trip!



last & next

new old profile notes design host