eBAH!

2004-02-26 at 8:34 a.m.


I'm getting so frustrated with selling on ebay, that I'm considering hanging it up. Today, I'm probably going to receive my first negative feedback... and that bothers me.

I sold a magazine back on the first of this month. The buyer paid me for it and I shipped it on the second of February. She wrote me a couple of weeks later to say she hadn't yet received it. I told her I was sorry for the delay, but to be patient, because sometimes things take 30 days to arrive, even when shipped priority.

She wrote to me again late last night, demanding that I somehow trace the package and its route or give her her money back. I tried to be professional and courteous as I explained that since she failed to purchase insurance, I accept absolutely no responsibility whatsoever. I outline this in all my auction listings, as well. She's an inexperienced ebayer, only so far receiving one feedback rating - the one I gave her.

I told her that any seller would tell her the same thing - that you either purchase insurance or take your chances, basically. I reminded her that I was not a business, but instead of stay at home mom trying to earn money to suppliment my family's income. I can't afford to hand out refunds to everyone who claims they didn't get their items.

I don't mean to accuse her of trying to falsely get a refund out of me, but how do I know she didn't get her package?

Would I refund her money just to keep her happy? No. First of all, I don't have it. Money is so incredibly tight with this new house payment that I need every dime just to keep food on the table for three kids. Second, I can't set a standard of handing out money to people who may not even have it coming. Her lost or misdelivered package isn't my responsibility. Word may get around that I'm a pushover and ebaying would end up costing me more than it already does.

I know this shouldn't frustrate me, especially since I clearly encourage buyers to purchase insurance in all my auction listings. But I've worked very hard for 460 positive feedback ratings and I hate to have it all tainted by some woman who doesn't know the ins and outs of online auctioning.

Do I purchase insurance when I buy things? No. To me, filing an insurance claim is simply too complicated to be worth while. You have to prove an item's value before you can collect, which when buying and selling used items, isn't always possible or easy.

We went through this when we insured M's airline tickets a few years ago. My head still spins when I think of the hassle and red tape we went through. Actually, the airline, who didn't lose the tickets, were more helpful than the post office who did.

This woman is mad as hell over the $8.00 she lost on ebay. My four years of hard work and professional service will be down the fucking toilet over $8.00.

last & next

new old profile notes design host