Listen up and listen good, damnit!

2004-02-07 at 7:39 a.m.


It's time, ladies and gentlemen! You've waited patiently and the wait is over. Yes, once again it's time for...

LINDA'S SOAPBOX!!

The segment where Linda offers unsolicited advice, sure to offend one and all! Today's segment:

DRIVER ATTENTIVENESS

While operating a motor vehicle, one must use common sense and the utmost caution to assure not only his/her own safety, the safety of the passengers in his/her trusted care, but the safety of his/her fellow motorists. The following acts should never take place behind the wheel of a moving vehicle:

~ making or receiving cell or car phone calls

~ applying of make-up

~ reading

~ tuning the radio or changing CDs or cassettes

~ turning to look at or attend to, passengers in the back seat, including children

~ reaching for items elsewhere in the vehicle

~ sleeping

You know all of this, right? Of course you do. But really... how many of these things do you do from time to time? Or even daily?

It never ceases to amaze me how often I see cars speeding down the freeway with its driver reading a newspaper. Or a woman on her way to work, applying mascara in traffic. It's appalling.

But something I didn't realize was this. The things I was doing behind the wheel of a car are just as dangerous and potentially life-threatening.

I always reach onto the floor of the backseat to retrieve shit my kids have thrown or dropped.

I always reach into my purse to make sure I have enough cash to pick up lunch, or to have my debit card ready for the ATM.

I always make and receive phone calls.

I'm constantly fucking with the radio and CD player.

Not anymore. The man who caused the crash I witnessed stated he was simply reaching for a stick of gum, something I myself have done many times. (Although, I do suspect the man was also intoxicated... I don't need to mention here not to drink and drive, do I?)

So before I slide my soapbox back under the computer desk, let me make certain you all understand.

* Never engage in the aforementioned activites while driving

* Always wear your seat belt and always correctly use age/size appropriate child restraint systems for your child. (Take them to your local fire station to have them checked, if you aren't certain they're properly installed!)

* Never put a child under the age of 12 in the front seat, even if you have no passenger-side airbags. The safest place for children is always the backseat!

* Always keep your eyes on the road, your hands on the wheel (at "4 and 8" for cars with airbags) and your mind on what might possibly happen. The asshole coming towards you or pulling out of that side street wasn't smart enough to read this message, so you have to be prepared for what the stupid son-of-a-bitch might do next, especially during a full moon.

Well, boys and girls, that concludes another episode of "Linda's Soapbox". Until next time... BE SAFE!

last & next

new old profile notes design host