Adventures in Ticket Buying

2004-01-25 at 7:36 a.m.


Buying my tickets to the "Clay Aiken / That Other Person" concert was a frustrating experience that I'll share with you now.

At 10:00am CST on the dot, I went to ticketmaster.com in an attempt to buy tickets. I clicked on "best available" seats and was offered the following:

SECTION: SHIT

ROW: CRAP

SEATS: FUCKED and SCREWED

Knowing there had to be better options than that, I forfeited those seats and began a new search. My next offer?

SECTION: SHITTIER

ROW: CRAPPIER

SEATS: UNBELIEVABLY FAR AWAY FROM THE STAGE AND FORGET ABOUT SEEING A THING

Shit. Weren't there any floor seats at all? I began a new search and to make a long story short, every time I searched, the seats offered me were further and further north. Then I had a flash of brilliance. Okay, so it's rare, but it does happen on occasion.

I'll search for one ticket! I'll just go by myself! Who the hell needs K along making fun of me, anyway? Search results?

Nothing on floor, nothing on event level, nothing on arena level.... NOTHING!!

Frustrated as hell, I now take two tickets deemed "best available" by my new enemy, ticketmaster.com, and begin to sulk. These tickets are so far away from the stage, I likely wouldn't know Clay Aiken from Eminem.

With a scowl on my face, I proceed to the check out process and read the following...

Billing address for your credit card MUST be the same as your shipping address. Ticketmaster will not be responsible for forwarding tickets...

Ah fuck, can this get any worse? See, one of the things I failed to do upon moving here was to change my address with my bank. So now what?? Do I spend $114 for two tickets that are to hell and gone from the stage and take my chances that the post office will disregard the "DO NOT FORWARD" printed on my ticket envelope? Or...

Do I dare...

Go over to ebay and, uh...

Well...

Hm.

To make a long story short, I now have two floor tickets, center section and will likely not have a marriage upon my husband's return home from his trip.

I touched upon this briefly while conversing with him on the phone last night.

"Did you get your tickets?" he asks.

"Uh, I did and we'll leave it at that until you get home and I can explain... " I answer.

"Can we still make the house payment?" he inquires.

"I have everything I own on ebay right now," was my sad reply.

He said, "Just don't sell the En-voy"

... and we left it at that. I mean, I really didn't spend that much. I have a little more than half the money to cover the tickets already and I should have the rest and then some by the time the house payment is due. I think K understands. I mean, this is Clay Fucking Aiken we're talking about.

The most important thing is, I'm going to the concert and all is right with the world, except -

I really wish I was even closer to the stage. Hmmmmm......

last & next

new old profile notes design host