I shop, therefore I am...

2004-01-31 at 8:22 a.m.


You know my life is boring when I come here to write about a trip to the grocery store.

After I got the kids into the shower with their dad last night, I snuck out to go grocery shopping. I went to the nearest (and luckily the cheapest) store and began the hunt for a good parking spot. After ten minutes of cruising, I began the hunt for any parking spot. I assumed the mad rush and sudden interest in food products revolved around the pending snowstorm due to hit tomorrow. I had completely forgotten about the stooper superbowl.

I'm not a football fan and couldn't even tell you which two teams are competing. To be honest, I could have sworn this event took place last weekend.

So I manage to find a pretty damn good spot and I limped on in to do my shopping.

About half way through my journey, my feet were killing me. I would have given anything for a chair or prosthetic limbs.

My life is so lame that a shopping trip out by myself is like a tropical vacation.

The checker amused me. She was at aisle number one, right by the entrance to the store. I told her she got the cold checkout aisle. She told me she had specifically asked to be moved from teh express aisle where she had been, because, "Ain't nobody happy over there - everyone came through was a-bitchin' 'bout sumpin'!"

We chatted for awhile about donuts, kids clothing and our mutual detest of football.

It was nice to talk to an adult with whom I had something in common.

When I came home, I had to once again park in the street, because the driveway was too slippery to hold the 3,000 Monte Carlo.

I guess I need to get out more if a trip to Shop 'n' Save amuses me.

last & next

new old profile notes design host