Flooring and strange dreams...

2003-11-09 at 12:41 p.m.


Everytime I sit down to type an entry, my kids become helpless, needy invalids.

"I want... "

"Gimme... "

"Fix me a... "

Everyone told me living here in this apartment would deem me insane in no time. I didn't believe it. I mean, I knew it would be difficult, but I'm getting to the point where it really is making me pull my hair out of my head. There's no room for anything. No one, least of all me, has any space of their own. I'm having nightmares at night about piles of laundry chasing me down the freeway, taunting me. Dreams really do depict real life. At least I have an accurate countdown to when this will all come to an end. I never thought I would look forward to doing laundry, but I'm giddy with delight over the thought of being able to do laundry, in any state of undress and indecency, regardless of what time of day or night, regardless how much change I have in my purse and not have to worry about... well, you know all the shit I have to worry about doing laundry here.

Flooring. I'm sure most of you don't give a rat's hairy white ass what flooring I've chosen for my house, but a couple of you might be interested. For the hardwood in the entryway, the kitchen, breakfast room, the downstairs hallway and the butler's pantry... I chose "natural", a very light wood with some darker grain running through it.

For the vinyl flooring in the laundry room, and all three bathrooms... I chose a grey sheet vinyl with tan fleck. It kind of looks like slate. I mean, not enough so that anyone would actually be stupid enough to think it was slate, but it has a mat-te finish about it. I hope it isn't too dark, but it matches the laminate counter top in the kitchen.

For the carpet... I chose "french cocoa". Funny all the names they come up with for "beige". Actually, it is a bit darker than beige, but not quite as dark as the taupe I thought I would go with. In our last house, we chose all very light flooring - white floors, eggshell carpet - what a mistake it was. It showed everything.

I hope it all looks okay. I still doubt my taste when things all come together as one. Although, we walked through a model home yesterday (of the house M and S are building) and I saw a counter top just like the one I chose and it looks great.

I had a weird dream last night that Lar-ry had a birthday party. On my way, I was driving down Reseda Blvd. (near where I used to live in L.A. - which is nowhere near where Lar-ry lives) and L!sa Hartman was coming the other way. She stopped and said hello to me as we were stuck in traffic, as if we knew each otehr for years. (She and my dad know each other, but I've never met her) My light turned green and I left her standing there talking, looking like a fool.

Reseda Blvd. started to look like downtown St. Louis, with old, brick buildings, falling and crumbling to the ground.

I arrived at the party and each of Lar-ry's brothers walked in, followed by his dad. This would be a good trick, considering his dad has been in a wheelchair for 20 years.

Then Clay walked in, wearing a cheesy pimp mustache and dressed like a gangsta. I told him that as much as I adored him and wanted to deflower him of his supposed virginity... the outfit and facial hair had to go. He ignored me, walked through the buffet line and left.

I've got to stop drinking Starbucks so late in the day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

44 days until my house is done!

I'm wearing: grey sweats, white Jacksonville, Florida t-shirt

I'm listening to: G's toy dump truck and J whining

I'm eating/drinking: nothing

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: cloudy and 45 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host