Door dings and other things...

2003-09-23 at 9:35 a.m.


Someone opened their door into my car. I have a pretty damn good idea who, too. There's a new tenant who lives in the building catty-wampus (sp??) from us who parks in the same row of spaces. He's a really nice guy, but he parks like he's blindfolded. He drives a cargo van, always backs into his spot and never parks straight. When I noticed the paint chipped away in my door moulding, he was parked right next to me and judging by the swing of his driver's side door, I'm sure it was him. As a result, I'm now parking at the very end of the row, as far away from the next spot as possible. It's a pain in the ass when I have groceries or kids to unload, but I can't have my car beat all to hell, either.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last night, we all drove out to the house to show K all the work they had done. It was fun to walk through and say, "I'm now standing in the family room! Now I'm in the dining room... " Etc. Hopefully, it'll be under roof within a couple of weeks, so weather won't be a factor in its completion. I'm still terrified this whole thing will fall apart - that there'll be a problem with our loan. Things never tend to work out for us, so I hope this isn't one of those times.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hate cooking anymore. I used to enjoy whipping up fancy dinners for K back when we were childless. Even before I left home at age 18, I began collecting recipes. It was exciting to plan for, prepare and serve a brand new recipe. Now that I have three demanding kids, I find the entire process tedious and draining. Not only emotionally, but financially. I know I need to start saving money, so I'm on a quest to find meals that:

~ are inexpensive. With five mouths to feed, I need recipes that are only pennies per serving.

~ are kid friendly. G eats anything and everything, E eats fruit but not vegetables and J hates everything unless it comes in a bag with a toy surprise.

~ are easy. I can't spend all day in the kitchen. I've always got at least one child attached to my leg when I try to prepare meals, so anything that I can throw into a pot or assemble quickly would interest me.

~ are low in fat and carbs, or something I can easily alter by using low fat ingredients.

If anyone has any suggestions, drop me a line!

I'm off to hunt through my cookbooks and clip my coupons - see ya!

27 days until my vacation!

I'm wearing: grey sweats, white Clay Aiken shirt

I'm listening to: "Is She Really Going Out With Him" by Joe Jackson

I'm eating/drinking: banana Slim Fast shake

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: sunny, crystal clear skies, 52 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host